Welcome to the PACS Department Guide!

The purpose of this Research Guide is to provide you with the specific information and tools that you'll be using to do research. On this page, you will find our librarians' recommendations for best resources for your subject. This includes subject specific databases, search tips, source evaluation, citations, and tips on how to organize research. 

Need additional assistance? Reach out to your subject librarian! We are always happy to help.

Best Bets: Databases

Unsure of which Databases to search for PACS sources? Here is where we recommend starting:

Irish Newspaper Archives  

Irish Newspaper Archives contains electronic versions of Irish newspapers from the 1700's to current day.

Student Activism 

The Student Activism collection is intended to serve as a scholarly bridge from the extensive history of student protest in the United States to the study of today’s vibrant, continually unfolding actions

Academic Search COMPLETE 

Designed for academic institutions, this database is a leading resource for scholarly research. It supports high-level research in the key areas of academic study by providing journals, periodicals, reports, books and more.

Additional Resources 

Google Scholar

Resource that allows users to search for scholarly literature such as articles, patents, thesis, and more. 

Websites

Alliance for Peacebuilding

Networking and coalition building

Beyond Intractability

At the University of Colorado, Boulder, it is now merged with CRInfo: the conflict resolution information source

The Center for Justice & Peacebuilding (CJP)

Eastern Mennonite University

Conciliation Resources

London

HD: Centre for Humanitarian Dialogue

The Centre for Humanitarian Dialogue’s (HD) mission is to prevent, mitigate and resolve armed conflicts, through dialogue and mediation. Located in Geneva, Switzerland.

INCORE : International Conflict Research Institute

University of Ulster

Mediate.com

All about mediation and mediators

Peace Accords Matrix (PAM)

University of Notre Dame - implementation data on intrastate peace agreements. The PAM project is home to the largest existing collection of implementation data on intrastate peace agreements.

Peace and Justice Studies Associations (PJSA)

An association of educators and activists addressing peace, conflict and justice issues. It is the North American Affiliate of the International Peace Research Association.

Peace Direct

International NGO based in London, which funds local peacebuilding efforts and monitoring in conflict areas.

Peacemakers Trust

British Columbia, Canada

TRANSCEND International A Peace Development Environment Network

Oslo, Johan Galtung