History
Religious Studies & Philosophy
Peace & Conflict Studies
Politics
Computer Science & IT
Math & Data Science (& Masters)
Our library uses the Library of Congress Classification system.
To get started searching our physical collection, we recommend starting here:
B Philosophy
BC Logic
BD Speculative Philosophy
If you are still unsure of where to look, please visit the info desk to ask for library student assistance.
Library Services now uses OpenAthens as a proxy server! Follow these steps:
Use library provided link to the database you wish to use.
You will be prompted for your Juniata username and password.
After entering your login info, you will be authenticated as a Juniata user for the remainder of your browser session.
The purpose of this Research Guide is to provide you with the specific information and tools that you'll be using to do research. On this page, you will find our librarians' recommendations for best resources for your subject. This includes subject specific databases, search tips, source evaluation, citations, and tips on how to organize research.
Need additional assistance? Reach out to your subject librarian! We are always happy to help.
Unsure of which Databases to search for Religious Studies & Philosophy sources? Here is where we recommend starting:
Alternate Name(s) Oxford University Press
16000+ scholarly books in 20 subjects with an estimated 1000 additional titles per year
Find over 600 peer-reviewed journals with deep back-file coverage in 20 disciplines. Browsing journals by discipline includes the following subjects: Health Sciences, Life & Biomedical Sciences, Materials Sciences & Engineering, Social Sciences & Humanities, etc.
Designed for academic institutions, this database is a leading resource for scholarly research. It supports high-level research in the key areas of academic study by providing journals, periodicals, reports, books and more.
JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
"An electronic archive for preprints in the philosophy of science. It is offered as a free service to the philosophy of science community." Maintained by the University of Pittsburgh.
Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy
"Philosophy Talk celebrates the value of the examined life. Each week, our two host philosophers invite you to join them in conversation on a wide variety of issues ranging from popular culture to our most deeply-held beliefs about science, morality, and the human condition."
American Philosophy Association
"Promotes the discipline and profession of philosophy, both within the academy and in the public arena. The APA supports the professional development of philosophers at all levels and works to foster greater understanding and appreciation of the value of philosophical inquiry."
the Indiana Philosophy Ontology (InPHO) Project
"Offers a variety of tools for students, researchers, programmers and scholars.
The ontology currently covers philosophical ideas, thinkers, and journals."
"Was started in 1997 and later grew to include over 19,000 categorized links to philosophy resources on the Internet and had several additional features. After becoming increasingly out of date, the site was taken down in 2011. This page now provides selected links to some outstanding resources for philosophy."
Liberty Fund's Online Library of Liberty
Full text access to 175 books on philosophy.
Collection of writings related to Philosophy. Includes preprint articles, book chapters, conference papers, and other materials.
Boston University curated collection of full text papers related to philosophy.
"A forum for discussing contemporary philosophical issues in ethics and related areas."
Bioethics.net (American Journal of Bioethics).
"Publishes information on the latest journal publications, events, job opportunities and current news."
eBooks
Digitized materials from academic and research institutions from around the globe.
An online catalog with links to e-books in various collections.
Directory of Open Access Books
Recently published books under an Open Access license
Links to digital books from various publishers and sites, most available for free.
Do you need access to something we don't have in our library collection? Try Interlibrary loan - the service that allows us to borrow materials from other libraries. Learn more here.
Juniata College
1700 Moore Street
Huntingdon, PA 16652
Juniata College
1815 Moore Street
Huntingdon, PA 16652
