Our library uses the Library of Congress Classification system.
To get started searching our physical collection, we recommend starting here:
J Political Science
If you are still unsure of where to look, please visit the info desk to ask for library student assistance.
Library Services now uses OpenAthens as a proxy server! Follow these steps:
Use library provided link to the database you wish to use.
You will be prompted for your Juniata username and password.
After entering your login info, you will be authenticated as a Juniata user for the remainder of your browser session.
The purpose of this Research Guide is to provide you with the specific information and tools that you'll be using to do research. On this page, you will find our librarians' recommendations for best resources for your subject. This includes relevant resources, such as subject specific databases, citation format guidance, search tips, and contact information of the subject librarian
Need additional assistance? Reach out to your subject librarian! We are always happy to help.
Unsure of which Databases to search for Political sources? Here is where we recommend starting
A database produced by the National Agricultural Library (NAL), consists of two subsets of records. The first contains citations for journal articles that include abstracts. The second consists of bibliographic records describing monographs, serials, audiovisual materials and online content from around the world. AGRICOLA includes but is not limited to resources available in the library. The database contains 5,200,000+ records and includes printed works from as far back as the 15th century.
The Census Bureau's mission is to serve as the nation's leading provider of quality data about its people and economy.
Type Juniata as the Institution to search Politics, Law, Government at the state and federal levels
Irish Newspaper Archives contains electronic versions of Irish newspapers from the 1700's to current day.
16000+ scholarly books in 20 subjects with an estimated 1000 additional titles per year
The Washington Post is an excellent source for news on current events, national politics, and global issues. To access freely from anywhere, create an account with your Juniata email and navigate to "Subscription & Billing"
The New York Times is one of the largest newspapers in the United States, primarily covering national news. Search for Juniata College and create an account with your student email address to access.
Founded in 1889, the Wall Street Journal has become one of the most popular sources for keeping up with the ever-changing economic landscape of the United States and the world.
Searches across and provides access to the more than 300 digital collections created by the Library of Congress. Includes photos, prints, drawings, maps, books, manuscripts, audio recordings, films, notated music, newspapers, and archived websites.
Boston TV News Digital Library
An online catalog of news content from Boston Public Library’s WHDH film collection (1960- mid-1970s), Cambridge Community Television (1988 to 1999), Northeast Historic Film’s WCVB film collection (1970-1979), and WGBH-produced The Reporters (1970-1973), Evening Compass (1973-1975) and the Ten O’Clock News.
Bureau of Justice Statistics (BJS)
Data about crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime, and the operation of justice systems at all levels of government.
The Caselaw Access Project (“CAP”) expands public access to U.S. law. Our goal is to make all published U.S. court decisions freely available to the public online, in a consistent format, digitized from the collection of the Harvard Law Library.
CAP includes all official, book-published United States case law — every volume designated as an official report of decisions by a court within the United States. Our scope includes all state courts, federal courts, and territorial courts for American Samoa, Dakota Territory, Guam, Native American Courts, Navajo Nation, and the Northern Mariana Islands. Our earliest case is from 1658, and our most recent cases are from 2018.
National-level information on countries, territories, and dependencies
Digital Public Library of America (DPLA)
The Digital Public Library of America brings together the riches of America’s libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world. It strives to contain the full breadth of human expression, from the written word, to works of art and culture, to records of America’s heritage, to the efforts and data of science.
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
Free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals, covering a range of subjects.
Online access to a wide array of population statistics.
Open Vault is the home of WGBH Media Library and Archives, providing online access to unique and historically important content produced by the public television and radio station WGBH. The ever-expanding site contains video, audio, images, searchable transcripts, and resource management tools, all of which are available for individual and classroom learning. Visitors can become a "member" (free) of Open Vault: to access records and save findings.
World Bank Open Data: World Development Indicators
The Data Catalog provides download access to over 2,000 indicators from World Bank data sources.
World Bank: Global Economic Monitor
The Global Economic Monitor (GEM) is produced by the World Bank's Prospects Group (DECPG) of the Development Economics Vice-Presidency. GEM provides daily updates of global economic developments, with coverage of high income- as well as developing countries.
Do you need access to something we don't have in our library collection? Try Interlibrary loan - the service that allows us to borrow materials from other libraries. Learn more here.
Juniata College
1700 Moore Street
Huntingdon, PA 16652
Juniata College
1815 Moore Street
Huntingdon, PA 16652
