Welcome to the Ceramics Guide!

The purpose of this Research Guide is to provide you with the specific information and tools that you'll be using to do research. On this page, you will find our librarians' recommendations for best resources for your subject. This includes relevant resources, such as subject specific databases, citation format guidance, search tips, and contact information of the subject librarian

Need additional assistance? Reach out to your subject librarian! We are always happy to help.

Best Bets: DatabasesArt & Architecture Complete  

Art & Architecture Complete is a robust art research database providing full-text art journals, magazines and books, plus detailed indexing and abstracts. Useful for artists, art scholars and designers, it covers fine, decorative and commercial art, as well as architecture and architectural design.

Humanities Source Ultimate  

Humanities Source Ultimate offers access to key content covering literary, scholarly and creative thought. It also includes hundreds of scholarly full-text journals cited in leading subject indexes to round out student research.

JStor  

JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.

Additional Resources

Access Ceramics

"A collection of contemporary ceramics images by recognized artists enhancing ceramics education worldwide."

Archie Bray Foundation

Art Axis

Ceramics Arts Network

A frequently updated site that includes news, resources, and forums.

Clay Akar

The Color Network

Glazy

International Ceramics Directory

Links to websites on pottery and porcelain from around the world.

Red Lodge Clay Center

Schaller Gallery

The American Museum of Ceramic Art (AMOCA)

British Musem

Database of the British Museums' Collections

Encyclopedia Smithsonian

Find reading lists, images, and online exhibitions in the arts. You can filter your search by clicking "Craft & Decorative Arts" and "Design and Applied Arts" to get more relevant results for ceramics.

Everson Museum of Art - Ceramics Collection

"The Everson Museum of Art’s internationally recognized ceramics collection includes some of the finest representations of modern and contemporary American ceramics in the United States. "

Juniata College Museum of Art

The Met

The Metropolitan Museum of Art Ceramics

PotWeb: Ceramics Online @ the Ashmolean Museum

Tate - Ceramics

Wedgewood Museum

Wedgewood Museum holds "A unique record of over 260 years of British ceramic production."

Digital Public Library of America This link opens in a new window

DPLA connects people to the riches held within America’s libraries, archives, museums, and other cultural heritage institutions. All of the materials found through DPLA—photographs, books, maps, news footage, oral histories, personal letters, museum objects, artwork, government documents, and so much more—are free and immediately available in digital format. The cultural institutions participating in DPLA represent the richness and diversity of America itself, from the smallest local history museum to our nation’s largest cultural institutions.

Europeana 

Provides access access to millions of cultural heritage items from institutions across Europe. It includes more than 50 million digitized objects ( images, 3d objects, texts, videos and sounds).