Welcome to the ESS Department Guide!

The purpose of this Research Guide is to provide you with the specific information and tools that you'll be using to do research. On this page, you will find our librarians' recommendations for best resources for your subject. This includes subject specific databases, search tips, source evaluation, citations, and tips on how to organize research. 

Need additional assistance? Reach out to your subject librarian! We are always happy to help.

Best Bets: Databases

Unsure of which Databases to search for Environmental Science sources? Here is where we recommend starting:

AGRICOLA (.gov)  

A database produced by the National Agricultural Library (NAL), consists of two subsets of records. The first contains citations for journal articles that include abstracts. The second consists of bibliographic records describing monographs, serials, audiovisual materials and online content from around the world. AGRICOLA includes but is not limited to resources available in the library. The database contains 5,200,000+ records and includes printed works from as far back as the 15th century.

BioOne Complete  

BioOne Complete is a database of more than 200 subscribed and open-access titles in the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences.

Academic Search COMPLETE 

Designed for academic institutions, this database is a leading resource for scholarly research. It supports high-level research in the key areas of academic study by providing journals, periodicals, reports, books and more.

Additional Resources

Google Scholar

Resource that allows users to search for scholarly literature such as articles, patents, thesis, and more. 

Midwestern Regional Climate Center

Resources for climate and vegetation data and more.

GreenFILE

A freely accessible research database focusing on the relationship between human beings and the environment, with well-researched but accessible information on topics ranging from global warming to recycling to alternate fuel sources and beyond.

National Service Center for Environmental Publications

Database of more than 10,000 full-text documents published by the EPA.

PLANTS Database

Contains detailed biological and ecological information on thousands of plant varieties, as well as maps, images, and downloadable fact sheets. The site's variety of detail makes it appropriate for students, consumers, and researchers.

Interlibrary Loan

Do you need access to something we don't have in our library collection? Try Interlibrary loan - the service that allows us to borrow materials from other libraries. Learn more here.