Welcome to the Sociology Department Guide!

The purpose of this Research Guide is to provide you with the specific information and tools that you'll be using to do research. On this page, you will find our librarians' recommendations for best resources for your subject. This includes subject specific databases, search tips, source evaluation, citations, and tips on how to organize research. 

Need additional assistance? Reach out to your subject librarian! We are always happy to help.

Best Bets: Databases

Unsure of which Databases to search for Sociology sources? Here is where we recommend starting:

HeinOnline  

Type Juniata as the Institution to search Politics, Law, Government at the state and federal levels

Oxford Scholarship Online  

16000+ scholarly books in 20 subjects with an estimated 1000 additional titles per year

SAGE Journals and Backfile  

Find over 600 peer-reviewed journals with deep back-file coverage in 20 disciplines. Browsing journals by discipline includes the following subjects: Health Sciences, Life & Biomedical Sciences, Materials Sciences & Engineering, Social Sciences & Humanities, etc.

Nexis Uni  

More than 15,000 news, legal and business sources, including: journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs; Local, regional, national and international newspapers; Extensive legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790; Unparalleled business information on more than 80 million U.S. and international companies and more than 75 million executives

Academic Search COMPLETE 

Designed for academic institutions, this database is a leading resource for scholarly research. It supports high-level research in the key areas of academic study by providing journals, periodicals, reports, books and more.

Additional Resources

Websites

American Sociological Association (ASA)

The ASA is the national organization for sociologists, the American Sociological Association.

International Sociological Association (ISA)

A non-profit organization dedicated to scientific purposes in the field of sociology and social sciences. It is an international sociological body, gathering both individuals and national sociological organizations.

Everyday Sociology Blog

Interesting, informative, and entertaining commentary from sociologists around the United States.

SocioWeb

Independent guide to sociological resources on the Internet.

APA Formatting and Style Guide (Purdue OWL)

General formatting standards for papers and citations adhering to the American Psychological Association's (APA) 6th edition style guide.

ASA Formatting and Style Guide (Purdue OWL)

Overview of manuscript and citation formatting according to the American Sociological Association (ASA) Style Guide.

Quick Tips for ASA Style

Stylesheet for citing sources using the American Sociological Association's citation rules.

General Social Survey

GSS gathers data on contemporary American society in order to monitor and explain trends and constants in attitudes, behaviors, and attributes.

National Center for Education Statistics

Gateway website for all government-generated education statistics and reports. Maintained by the NCES, the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education.

National Center for Health Statistics

The NCHS is part of the CDC and provides health statistics for the United States.

Google Scholar

Resource that allows users to search for scholarly literature such as articles, case law, patents, thesis, and more. 

Interlibrary Loan

Do you need access to something we don't have in our library collection? Try Interlibrary loan - the service that allows us to borrow materials from other libraries. Learn more here.