Music, Studio Art, Theater
Communication
Criminal Justice
Sociology
Psychology
Chemistry, Biochemistry
Environmental Sciences
Physics
Geology
Our library uses the Library of Congress Classification system.
To get started searching our physical collection, we recommend starting here:
Q Science
QC Physics
QB Astronomy
If you are still unsure of where to look, please visit the info desk to ask for library student assistance.
Library Services now uses OpenAthens as a proxy server! Follow these steps:
Use library provided link to the database you wish to use.
You will be prompted for your Juniata username and password.
After entering your login info, you will be authenticated as a Juniata user for the remainder of your browser session.
The purpose of this Research Guide is to provide you with the specific information and tools that you'll be using to do research. On this page, you will find our librarians' recommendations for best resources for your subject. This includes subject specific databases, search tips, source evaluation, citations, and tips on how to organize research.
Need additional assistance? Reach out to your subject librarian! We are always happy to help.
Unsure of which Databases to search for Physics sources? Here is where we recommend starting:
Alternate Name(s) Primary Source
arXiv.org is a highly-automated electronic archive and distribution server for research articles. Covered areas include physics, mathematics, computer science, nonlinear sciences, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering and systems science, and economics.
Alternate Name(s) Oxford University Press
16000+ scholarly books in 20 subjects with an estimated 1000 additional titles per year
Designed for Astronomy and Physics researchers, the Astrophysics Data Systems is a database supported through the Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory. The database is compiled of 15 million records specializing in Astronomy, Astrophysics, Physics, and Science.
There are three main search functions within the database to provide unique interface and search options for users, including: modern serach form, classic search form, and browsable paper form. If you experience access restriction issues, please refer to the library service's Interlibrary Loan service.
AIP Publishing is designed to provide cutting-edge research for researchers seeking information in Physics, Materials Science, and Engineering.. It offers a wide range of peer-reviewed journals, proceedings, and conference papers. AIP Publishing cultivates a deeper understanding of scientific advancements and technological innovations.
Resource that allows users to search for scholarly literature such as articles, patents, thesis, and more.
DOAJ - Directory of Open Access Journals This link opens in a new window
The aim of the DOAJ is to increase the visibility and ease of use of open access scientific and scholarly journals & thereby promoting their increased usage and impact. This aims to be comprehensive and cover all open access scientific and scholarly journals that use a quality control system to guarantee the content.
Office of Scientific and Technical Information
This is a vast, integrated network of electronic scientific and technical information created by scientists and research engineers active in their respective fields, all full-text searchable. OSTI is intended for use by other scientists, engineers, and students at advanced levels.
SPIE Journals are peer-reviewed, open-access online journals that publish invited review articles covering the state of the art of emerging and rapidly evolving optics and photonics technologies and their applications. All articles and supplemental materials in SPIE journals are open access and freely available to all.
IOPscience (Institute of Physics) Open Access Journals
IOP Publishing publishes a number of open access journals in physics, materials science, astronomy and astrophysics, and multidisciplinary sciences.
MIT provides access to a number of open access ebooks and journals.
Sponsoring Consortium for Open Access Publishing in Particle Physics: SCOAP3 Journals
SCOAP3 currently supports 11 open access journals in physics. Gonzaga's Foley Library contributes to the funding that makes this initiative possible.
Do you need access to something we don't have in our library collection? Try Interlibrary loan - the service that allows us to borrow materials from other libraries. Learn more here.
Juniata College
1700 Moore Street
Huntingdon, PA 16652
Juniata College
1815 Moore Street
Huntingdon, PA 16652
