Welcome to the Education Department Guide!

The purpose of this Research Guide is to provide you with the specific information and tools that you'll be using to do research. On this page, you will find our librarians' recommendations for best resources for your subject. This includes subject specific databases, search tips, source evaluation, citations, and tips on how to organize research. 

Need additional assistance? Reach out to your subject librarian! We are always happy to help.

Best Bets: Databases

Unsure of which Databases to search for Education sources? Here is where we recommend starting:

Chronicle of Higher Education  

The Chronicle aims to empower academe and others with insights to enable higher education to build on its capacity to be a powerful force for good. Get the latest information on the ever-evolving world of higher education through a source that values integrity, independence, spirit of generosity, and excellence.

ERIC (.gov)  

ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and research. This is the public access link via the Department of Education.

JStor  

JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.

Additional Resources

Annenberg Learner

Lesson plans, interactives, and teacher resources for grades K to 12.

Common Core State Standards Initiative

Provides an overview of the Common Core Standards by grade level and subject, as well as links to individual states implementing the standards.

National Association for the Advancement of Colored People

The NAACP works with educational leaders to support students and teachers by providing financial resources, curricula content, and information to help Black students thrive.

National Education Association

All aspects of public education are addressed including improving the quality of teaching and increasing student achievements. Resources and statistics are given for each of the fifty states.

National Library of Education

National Library of Education serves as the federal government's primary resource center for education information.

Open Educational Resources Commons

A fully indexed and searchable library of freely accessible educational resources, contributed by educators from around the world.

School Psychology Resources Online

School psychology resources for parents and educators. Covers the areas of learning disabilities, behavior problems, psychological assessment, special education, and more.

U.S. Department of Education

Includes full text documents, searchable collections, and links to other education sites

Statistics

The Common Core of Data

Annual, national statistical database of information about public elementary and secondary schools (e.g., enrollment by grade, student characteristics, number of teachers) and school districts (e.g., number of students, number of high school graduates in the previous year).

The Condition of Education

Annual publication of the National Center for Education Statistics provides information about developments, indicators, and trends in major aspects of U.S. education.

National Center for Education Statistics (NCES)

Online publications and statistical data from NCES, the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education in the United States and other nations.

Interlibrary Loan

Do you need access to something we don't have in our library collection? Try Interlibrary loan - the service that allows us to borrow materials from other libraries. Learn more here.