The purpose of this Research Guide is to provide you with the specific information and tools that you'll be using to do research. On this page, you will find our librarians' recommendations for best resources for your subject. This includes subject specific databases, search tips, source evaluation, citations, and tips on how to organize research.
Need additional assistance? Reach out to your subject librarian! We are always happy to help.
Type Juniata as the Institution to search Politics, Law, Government at the state and federal levels
16000+ scholarly books in 20 subjects with an estimated 1000 additional titles per year
Find over 600 peer-reviewed journals with deep back-file coverage in 20 disciplines. Browsing journals by discipline includes the following subjects: Health Sciences, Life & Biomedical Sciences, Materials Sciences & Engineering, Social Sciences & Humanities, etc.
More than 15,000 news, legal and business sources, including: journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs; Local, regional, national and international newspapers; Extensive legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790; Unparalleled business information on more than 80 million U.S. and international companies and more than 75 million executives.
Designed for academic institutions, this database is a leading resource for scholarly research. It supports high-level research in the key areas of academic study by providing journals, periodicals, reports, books and more.
Newspaper Specific
The Chronicle aims to empower academe and others with insights to enable higher education to build on its capacity to be a powerful force for good. Get the latest information on the ever-evolving world of higher education through a source that values integrity, independence, spirit of generosity, and excellence.
Huntingdon County Historical Newspapers
This digital collection contains the archive of the Huntingdon Gazette and the Huntingdon Journal (also published as the Journal and the Journal and American). The Huntingdon Gazette is the first successful newspaper on the town of Huntingdon and covers late 1806 through early 1839. The Huntingdon Journal continues the coverage beginning in the mid 1830s and running through the middle of the nineteenth century.
The New York Times is one of the largest newspapers in the United States, primarily covering national news. Search for Juniata College and create an account with your student email address to access.
More than 15,000 news, legal and business sources, including: journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs; Local, regional, national and international newspapers; Extensive legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790; Unparalleled business information on more than 80 million U.S. and international companies and more than 75 million executives.
The Washington Post is an excellent source for news on current events, national politics, and global issues.
To access freely from anywhere, create an account with your Juniata email and navigate to "Subscription & Billing".
Founded in 1889, the Wall Street Journal has become one of the most popular sources for keeping up with the ever-changing economic landscape of the United States and the world.
Court Cases
Resource that allows users to search for scholarly literature such as articles, patents, thesis, and more.
Below the Google Scholar search box, you can select "Case Law" and select "United States" or a specific state.
After selecting these options, search for the court case, number, or names of those involved.
A multimedia archive devoted to making the Supreme Court of the United States accessible to everyone. A. free law project from Cornell’s Legal Information Institute (LII), Justia, and Chicago-Kent College of Law.
Free access to federal and state court decisions, codes, and regulations.
Cornell Law School Legal Information Institute (LII)
The LII publishes electronic versions of core materials in numerous areas of the law.
U.S. Stats
Official web portal for the United States government.
Data access and dissemination system that provides information on local communities, economy and society collected from censuses and surveys.
Bureau of Justice Statistics (BJS)
As the primary source for US criminal justice statistics, BJS collects, analyzes, publishes, and disseminates information on crime, criminal offenders, and the operation of justice systems at all levels of government.
Historical Statistics of the United States
Electronic version of the 4th edition. Including statistics on population, migration, work, welfare, etc. in the United states from 1790-2000.
Do you need access to something we don't have in our library collection? Try Interlibrary loan - the service that allows us to borrow materials from other libraries. Learn more here.
Juniata College
1700 Moore Street
Huntingdon, PA 16652
Juniata College
1815 Moore Street
Huntingdon, PA 16652
