Are databases asking you for a password? Are you off-campus?
The Library now uses OpenAthens as a proxy server!
Be sure to use a library provided link to the database you wish to use. You should be prompted for your Juniata username and password. After entering those you will be authenticated as a Juniata user for the remainder of your browser session.
For more details see the Off Campus Access guide.
Welcome to the Politics Research Guide!
The purpose of a Research Guide is to help get you started on your research projects. On this page, you will find our librarian's recommendations for best resources for your subject. This includes relevant resources, such as specific Databases, citation format guidance, search tips, and contact information of the subject librarian.
Require further assistance? Reach out to your subject librarian! We are always happy to help.
Unsure of which Databases to use for Politics?
Here is where we recommend starting:
A database produced by the National Agricultural Library (NAL), consists of two subsets of records. The first contains citations for journal articles that include abstracts. The second consists of bibliographic records describing monographs, serials, audiovisual materials and online content from around the world. AGRICOLA includes but is not limited to resources available in the library. The database contains 5,200,000+ records and includes printed works from as far back as the 15th century.
The Census Bureau's mission is to serve as the nation's leading provider of quality data about its people and economy.
Type Juniata as the Institution to search Politics, Law, Government at the state and federal levels
Irish Newspaper Archives contains electronic versions of Irish newspapers from the 1700's to current day.
Nexis Uni Political Science allows finding and tracking state and federal legislation, political news, and featured political publications.
Nexis Uni Criminal Justice provides access to state and federal statutes, cases, law reviews, and news.
Alternate Name(s) Oxford University Press
16000+ scholarly books in 20 subjects with an estimated 1000 additional titles per year
Alternate Name(s) Washington Post, WaPo
The Washington Post is an excellent source for news on current events, national politics, and global issues.
To access freely from anywhere, create an account with your Juniata email and navigate to "Subscription & Billing"
Just Getting Started?
Be sure to search our library catalog! (The search bar to our catalog is located at the top of each page of our website!) Our physical collection consists of 70,000 physical books and we have 700,000 eBooks available! This does not include other resources such as articles, journals, videos, and more!
Library of Congress Call Numbers
Juniata College
1700 Moore Street
Huntingdon, PA 16652
Juniata College
1700 Moore Street
Huntingdon, PA 16652
