LibGuides: Asian History: Library Resources

Search for Books & E-Books

Gold Card Holders - Request Books for Curbside Pickup Here!

Print Books in the Library

E-Books

eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
EBSCO offers more than one million high-quality e-book titles and 100,000 audiobooks from more than 1,500 major academic publishers and University Presses from around the world.
Ebook Central (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Find scholarly ebooks in multiple subjects from world-renowned publishers through ProQuest.
Humanities E-Books This link opens in a new window
ACLS Humanities Ebooks is a digital collection of over 5,400 seminal books in the humanities and related social sciences.
Oxford Scholarship Online This link opens in a new window
16000+ scholarly books in 20 subjects with an estimated 1000 additional titles per year

Books to Request from other Libraries

WorldCat
Search both Statton Learning Common's main collection and collections from around the world. You can also use this tool to request books not found at our campus.

Get Books about East Asia!

For Lit - PL523-PL4378

JQ750-JQ1725 - Politics

HN673-733 - Sociology

Second floor (top)

Of Library!

Basement- DS490-DS935 History!

ENJOY BROWSING!!

A Few Print Journals/Magazines often offering Topics of interest in Asian History

The Week

Time Magazine

Foreign Affairs

China Today

Dao

Current History

Asian Survey

The Economist

Research Tools

Top 5 Research Databases

JStor This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
Project Muse - Social Science Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides access to high quality, peer reviewed, interdisciplinary journals in the social sciences including cultural studies, economics, anthropology, politics, and much more.
Academic Search COMPLETE This link opens in a new window
Designed for academic institutions, this database is a leading resource for scholarly research. It supports high-level research in the key areas of academic study by providing journals, periodicals, reports, books and more.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Firmly established as the world's leading society publisher, Wiley offers an exceptional portfolio of over 8 million articles from 1,600 journals. Half of which are published in partnership with prestigious international scholarly and professional societies. Titles selected by Wiley cover the full spectrum of life, health and physical sciences, social science and the humanities, and include many titles ranked at the forefront of their field.

More Research Tools

Google Scholar
**Add Beeghly Library to the Google Scholar settings to instantly see if we provide full text to articles. Go to Settings > Library Links > type in Beeghly or Juniata College. Turn on cookies and Save.

Nexis Uni - Criminal Justice This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni Criminal Justice provides access to state and federal statutes, cases, law reviews, and news.
New York Times Historical (1851-2015) This link opens in a new window
Search the New York Times issues from 1851-2015 and get PDFs of the articles.
The Times (London) This link opens in a new window
The (London) Times Digital Archive, 1785-2013
MLA International Bibliography (EBSCOhost)
Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the MLA International Bibliography is the definitive index for the study of language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric and composition, folklore, and film, covering scholarly publications from the early 20th century to the present. International in scope, it includes citations to journal articles, books, articles in books, series, translations, scholarly editions, websites, and dissertations, with links to full text in JSTOR, Project MUSE, and other resources.

Off Campus Access

Are databases asking you for a password?
Are you off-campus?

The Library now uses OpenAthens as a proxy server!

Be sure to use a library provided link to the database you wish to use. You should be prompted for your Juniata username and password. After entering those you will be authenticated as a Juniata user for the remainder of your browser session.

For more details see the Off Campus Access guide.

A Few DVD's (out of hundreds)

Ghost Dog

Ran

Ugetsu

The Eel

Dear American (Letters Home from Vietnam)

Know Your Enemy - Japan

Born on the Fourth of July

Huo Zhe

The Wall

Good Morning Vietnam

Memoirs of A Geisha

The Last Samurai

Winter Soldier

Seven Samurai

Maya Lin

Rashomon

The Atomic Cafe

The Joy Luck Club

Sansho the Bailiff

Hula Girls

Babel

Liang and the Magic Paintbrush

Se Jie

Mishima

Letters from Iwo Jima

The Paper Crane

Lost in Translation

Jiro Dreams of Sushi

Tokyo Sonata

Map of the Sounds of Tokyo

The Cove

Budo

Apocalypse Now

The Grandmaster

Tian Zhu Ding

Ichimei

Hotaru No Haka

some REF books just to get you started....

Encyclopedia of the Vietnam War(Tucker)

Encyclopedia of the Vietnam War(Kutler)

Encyclopedia of China

Information China

Cambridge Handbook of Contemporary China

Encyclopedia of Chinese Overseas

Dictionary of Modern Politics in Japan

The Cambridge History of China

The Cambridge History of Ancient China

Encyclopedia of Contemporary Chinese Culture

Kodansha Encyclopedia of Japan

Japan Encyclopedia

Encyclopedia of Asian History

Encyclopedia of Modern Asia

Encyclopedia of Chinese Philosophy

Companion Encyclopedia of Asian Philosophy

Great Thinkers of the Eastern World

Encyclopedia of Taoism

Nanzam Guide to Japanese Religion

Illustrated Encyclopedia of Zen Buddhism

Dictionary of Asia Christianity

Encyclopedia of Japanese Business and Management

The Kanji Dictionary

Who's Who in Korean Literature

Modern East Asian Literature

Ask a Librarian

Have a question or not seeing the search results you wanted?

Digital Humanities

Beeghly Library's Digital Humanities

This site includes images of artifacts from the Fort Shirley dig and other interesting images.

Asian History: Library Resources