Internet Resources - HS 200 01 - The Great War - LibGuides at Juniata College

British Library - World War One
- Historical sources from both sides of the conflict, contributed by institutions from across Europe.
1914-1918-Online
- "An English-language virtual reference work on the First World War. The multi-perspective, open-access knowledge base is the result of an international collaborative project involving more than 1,000 authors, editors, and partners from over fifty countries. More than 1,000 articles will be gradually published."
Europeana 1914-1918
- Collection of stories from the public, national library collections, and film archives.
Firstworldwar.com
- An overview of many topics about and related to World War 1.
Fordham University - World War I
- Collection of primary source documents related to the war.
The Heritage of the Great War (Graphic Images)
- A site "dedicated to the events and consequences of World War I...And we show people rather than strategic plans or statistics."
NavalHistory.net
- Webpage devoted to 20^th Century naval combat.
Project Gutenberg - World War I (Bookshelf)
- Free digitized collection of books from and about World War I.

Media Networks

Public Broadcasting Service's The Great War.
- Companion website for the documentary series “The Great War and Shaping of the 20^th Century.”

Ball State University - World War I Posters
- The Elisabeth Ball Collection is a representative sampling of more than 2,000 WWI lithographs from Italy, France, Belgium, England, Australia, Germany, the United States, and other countries collected by Elisabeth Ball (1897-1982), daughter of Frances and George Ball.
Brandeis University World War I & World War II Propaganda Posters
- The Brandeis University World War I & World War II Propaganda Posters collection includes nearly one hundred different images, inspired by Western Europe examples, addressing a variety of American war aims.
The Indianapolis Public Library's World War I Poster Collection
- Over 200 US propaganda posters. The majority of the collection came from Miss Elizabeth Hench,who was a teacher at Charles E. Emmerich Manual Training High School in Indianapolis.
Google Cultural Institute - First World War Collections
Indiana University - League of Nations Photo Archive
Moreno Valley College Library - Trench Newspapers
- Collection of German, French and British Trench Newspapers.
Propaganda Postcards of the Great War
- Collection of 1,400 war-themed post cards.
Prisoners of the First World War
- Digitized "Individual data on prisoners of war will be posted gradually over the year 2014. Altogether, 5 million cards on prisoners and 500,000 pages of records associated with these cards will be available on this website." The records are taken from the International Committee of Red Cross's Archive.
Switzerland and the First World War
- This website describes some of the effects of the Great War on Switzerland and the Swiss.
University of Colorado Boulder - World War I Collection
- Digital collection of primary source pamphlets.
University of Minnesota “A Summons to Comradeship”: World War I and II Posters and Postcards
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill - World War I Postcards from the Bowman Gray Collection
University of Oxford First World War Poetry Digital Archive.
University of Washington War Poster Collection
Western European Theater Pamphlet Collection 1894-1918
- "These pamphlets were collected by the Princeton University Library starting from the outbreak of World War I. The collection contains pamphlets published in Europe during and immediately after World War I. They cover a broad range of topics including the economy, the press, the military, arms, territorial disputes, and others. The collection also includes speeches, sermons, bulletins, calendars, and songbooks."
The World War I Primary Document Archive

Juniata College During The War

The Juniata Echo (1890-1924) was the campus newspaper for the Normal College of Huntingdon, PA. The Normal College would be renamed Juniata College in 1894.

“(52) D.1155. - Raiding Party Getting Clear of a Sap and Racing towards the Boche Trenches - First World War ‘Official Photographs’ > Photographers > John Warwick Brooke - National Library of Scotland.” Accessed July 28, 2014. http://digital.nls.uk/first-world-war-official-photographs/pageturner.cfm?id=74547528. Used under a Creative Commons License.

Imperial War Museum
- "IWM is a global authority on conflict and its impact on people’s lives...from the First World War through to present-day conflict."
In Flanders Field Museum
- "The In Flanders Fields Museum conserves the link with this war past. Because the nature of war does not change over time, the museum considers presenting this war story to be a universal and contemporary message of peace, and therefore an important social mission. The museum works closely with partners who share its mission and works within the framework of Ypres City of Peace."
National World War I Museum and Memorial
- "The National WWI Museum and Memorial is America's leading institution dedicated to remembering, interpreting and understanding the Great War and its enduring impact on the global community."

Triple Entente / Allied Powers

Great Britain and ANZAC (Click to Expand)

Great Britain

British National Archives - First World War
- Official UK government records of the First World War.
Georgetown University's "Take Up the Sword of Justice" British Posters of World War One from the Roger N. Mohovich Collection.
- Website for the January – April 1998 exhibition.
Fergus MacKain's Wartime Sketches
- Website for the illustrations created by Private Fergus Mackain, of the 23^rd Battalion Royal Fusiliers.
The Guardian - World War One
- Collection of articles and features about World War One.
Imperial War Museum
- Coverage of conflicts involving the British Commonwealth from the First World War to the present.
Imperial War Museum's Lives of the First World War
- IWM project that seeks to tell the life stories of some of the 8 million men and women involved in the war.
The Long, Long Trail The British Army in the Great War of 1914 – 1918
- A site devoted to the soldiers, units, regiments and battle of the British Army during World War I.
Peace and War in the 20th Century's British Recruiting Posters
University of British Columbia Library Digital Collections World War I British press photograph collection
- Approximately 1,000 photos “originally distributed by the British government during the war to diplomats for use in official projects.”
Siegfried Sassoon's War Journals

Australia

Australian Government Department of Veterans' Affairs - Commemorative Publications
- Government webpage to honor veterans, as well as educate users by preserving the veterans' memories.
Australian War Memorial First World War Section.
- Shrine, museum and archive devoted to "the Australian experience of war and its enduring impact on Australia."
Billy Hughes, Australia's Prime Minister from 1915 - 1923.
Gallipoli the First Day (Downloadable on MAC and PC 1.3 GB)
- "An ABC 3D documentary site about the WW1 Anzac Landing at Gallipoli, on 25 April 1915.
National Library of Australia - Trove
- "Trove helps you find and use resources relating to Australia. It’s more than a search engine. Trove brings together content from libraries, museums, archives and other research organizations and gives you tools to explore and build."

Canada

Library and Archives of Canada
- Resources about the Canadian experience in World War I. Includes digitized personnel files.
Canada at war - World War I
- "Canada at War is a website created to honor the memory and history of the Canadian military contribution in all armed conflicts since the First World War."
Archives of Ontario - Online Exhibits
- Virtual exhibits that include: "Dear Sadie: Love, Lives, and Remembrance from Ontario's First World War" and "War Artists from the First World War."
Colonel G. W. L. Nicholson, C.D. Canadian Expeditioanry Force 1914-1919. Ottawa, Queens Printer, 1962.
- PDF copy of the book available through the Canadaian National Defense

Ireland

Defense Force Ireland - Military Archives
Google Cultural Institute - Dec 1919 - Aug 1922 Witness to War: Ireland at war through the lens of WD Hogan
- Digital exhibition of the Hogan Wilson collection of photographs at the National Library of Ireland.
National Library of Ireland Digital Collections (Make sure to check the "Show digitised Items only").

New Zealand

Remembering World War I New Zealand WW 100
- Website for the New Zealand WW100 program to foster appreciation and remembrance to mark the First World War centenary from 2014 to 2018.

France (Click to Expand)

Russia (Click to Expand)

United States [1917] (Click to Expand)

The Library of Congress - A Guide to World War I Materials
- Introductory guide to the collections in the Library of Congress related to World War I.
Library of Virginia - World War I History Commission Questionnaire
- Archive of questionnaire filled out by the returning Virginian soldeirs or their surviving family.
Maine Memory Network - Exhibit: Women, War, and the Home Front.
Millikin University Decatur, IL S.A.T.C. : Student Army Training Corps J.M.U. during the First World War
- Article about The Student Army Training Corps at James Millikin University in 1918.
Military Resources: World War I
- Compilation of resources on World War I through the National Archives.
National Archives Atlanta - Selected World War I Draft Registration Cards
- Full scans of a selection of draft cards, including Irving Berlin, Fred Astaire, and Louis Armstrong.
National WWI Musuem Kansas City, MO
- "Inspires thought, dialogue, and learning to make the experiences of the World War I era meaningful and relevant for present and future generations.
PA World War I Service Medal Application Cards
- Digitized collection of cards originally submitted by veterans and their survivors who applied for service medals in accordance with the Act of April 21, 1937.
North Carolina Digital Collections World War I Collection
- Collection from North Carolina State Archive and the State Library. Includes posters, selected letters, and photos.
U.S. National Archives - World War I
- Selection of photos from the National Archives holdings on Wolrd War I through Flickr.
University of South Carolina - World War I Letters of Sam Bloom
- "Samuel Bloom (1895-1976), a first-generation Ukrainian immigrant and recent City College graduate, served as private first class and signaler with Company L, 325th Infantry Battalion, US Army, from October 1917 till July 1919."
Illinois State University Women of WWI
- "This project focuses on the thirty-one women's who wartime activities are documented in the collection. This site includes the digital images of letters, completed surveys, news clippings, photographs, and postcards that are associated with these women."
Colorado College's Tutt Library - World War I Poster Collection Guide
- "An online exhibition of digital images of 337 posters from the World War I era, organized according to place, organization, or U.S. Government Department."

Central Powers

“(27) X.33009 - Boche Machine Gun Crew Captured, Bringing in Their Own Gun - First World War ‘Official Photographs’ > Germans - National Library of Scotland.” Accessed July 28, 2014. http://digital.nls.uk/first-world-war-official-photographs/pageturner.cfm?id=74549384. Used under a Creative Commons License.

Germany (Click to Expand)

Turkey (Click to Expand)

HS 200 01 - The Great War: Internet Resources

Juniata College During The War

Triple Entente / Allied Powers

Central Powers

Follow the Statton Learning Commons!

Juniata CollegeThink About Who You Are